Loewe named Gatorade Arkansas Girls XC Player of the Year

Haley Loewe, a standout senior from Bentonville High School, was named the 2023-24 Gatorade Arkansas Girls Player of the Year.

"The award, which celebrates the nation's top high school athletes for excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community, distinguishes Rutherford as Montana's best high school girls cross country player. From CEOs and coaches to star athletes, Gatorade Player of the Year winners showcase the power of sport, touting an all-star group of alumni that includes Irene Riggs (2022-23, 2021-22 & 2020-21, Morgantown High School, Morgantown, W. Va.), Katelyn Tuohy (2019-20, 2018-19 & 2017-18, North Rockland High School, Thiels, N.Y.) and Jordan Hasay (2008-09, Mission College Preparatory Catholic High School, San Luis Obispo, Calif.)"

Loewe, the first-ever winner from Bentonville High School, picked up four victories across seven cross country races in 2023 including her second consecutive win at the 6A Arkansas State Cross Country Championships.

Loewe ran a personal best time of 17:03.10 at the Chile Pepper Festival, which is the fastest time recorded by an Arkansas prep girl at the historic event.

[More from Gatorade's Press Release]

"A devoted volunteer with the Rogers Dream Center, which helps underprivileged families with Christmas gifts, Loewe has also donated her time locally on behalf of the Keypoint Church at Fall Fest in addition to packing meals for the Feed My Starving Children program. 'Haley Loewe rewrote the record books in the El Caliente Division race at the Chile Pepper Festival en route to repeating as Gatorade Player of the Year,' said Rich Gonzalez of PrepCalTrack. 'She also won her second consecutive Class 6A title, routing the field by a wide margin.'"

"Loewe has maintained a 4.02 weighted GPA in the classroom. She has signed a national letter of intent to run on scholarship at the University of Tennessee this fall."

"Two-time winner Loewe joins recent Gatorade Arkansas Girls Cross Country Players of the Year Olivia Pielemeier (2021-22, Lake Hamilton High School), Mia Loafman (2020-21, Rogers High School), and Ali Nachtigal (2019-20, Rogers High School), among the state's list of former award winners."

Coming off another historic season, Loewe's dominance will forever be enshrined in history.

For more information, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com or visit the Gatorade social media accounts on Instagram and Facebook.