Arkansas State Cross Country Championships - Day 2 Recap

After an electric first day of the Arkansas State Cross Country Championships, it was Division 1A, 2A, and 3A's turn to race.

For those who might have missed out on the exciting second day of action, here is a quick recap!

To relive all the action, follow @armilesplit on Twitter/X and check out their minute-by-minute updates from the course!


Division 1A

Missy Wilson got things started on Day 2, winning the 1A Girls Championship race, running a 20:44.29. The freshman from Viola ran a 36-second personal best en route to victory, putting an exclamation on her first high school season.

Clare Pohlmeier was the leader in the early goings of the race and finished second for the second consecutive season. The sophomore from Ozark Catholic was incredible in 2023 and looks to be one of the future stars of Arkansas Cross Country.

Kingston was spectacular, scoring just 37 points with a 1 to 5 split of just 1:48. Founders Classical Academy was next with 67 points and Ozark Catholic was third with 76.

In the Boys Championship, Isaac Pohlmeier led wire-to-wire to win his 5th state championship, running a 16:31.04. Pohlmeier's time was the fastest among the Arkansas Catholic schools, which the junior took much pride in.

Josh Cooper and Nicholas Wheeler clashed for second the entire race. Cooper narrowly edged out Wheeler, running a 17:29.83 to Wheeler's 17:34.27.

Ozark Catholic was spectacular, scoring just 32 points as their entire top 5 earned All-State honors, finishing in the top 10 (1+5+7+9+10). Kingston finished second scoring 112 points and Thaden School finished third scoring 113.

Division 2A

Bella Tedder dominated much of the 2A Girls Championship race this morning, running a 20:36.37. Tedder finishes her high school career having won 5 races this season as well as her first state championship.

Kalee Mounts, Olivia Prothro, Carlee Mounts, and Madilyn Varvil rounded out the top 5. The Mounts sisters from Dierks were the first two team scorers to cross the line, while Prothro was the second individual.

Varvil was the first girl in for Quitman, the 2023 2A Girls Team Champions. Quitman had a fantastic day, scoring just 35 points. Dierks also had a great day and finished second, scoring 45 points. Bigelow and Magazine finished 3rd and 4th and scored 110 and 113 points respectively.

Jacen Heiner overcame an early challenge from Josiah Williams, who finished fifth, to win the 2A Boys State Championship. Heiner's teammate Parker Moore finished 16 seconds behind Heiner in second.

The senior duo led Haas Hall Bentonville to a state title scoring just 40 points. Cooper Spurlock and Collin Orvin finished third and fourth and helped lead Greenland to finish second. The Pirates scored 66 while Cedar Ridge, who finished third, scored 93.

Division 3A

The 3A Girls State Championship was highlighted by Elle Williamson and Zoe Williamson, sisters from Harding Academy who finished first and second.

Elle had a spectacular day, running a personal best on a course that had been running slow all week. The younger of the two sisters was able to pull away with just 200m left in the race, while Zoe finished just 1.8 seconds behind, running 19:55.03.

The older of the two sisters, Zoe, finishes this season with the third-fastest time run in Arkansas this season. Zoe was one of Arkansas's breakout stars in 2023 and will be one of the most exciting runners to watch on the track this spring.

Ellie Akins from Mountain View finished third, while Anna Stone, also from Harding Academy, finished fourth.

Episcopal Collegiate School narrowly pulled out a win, defending their state championship from a year ago and scoring just 42 points. Harding Academy was second, scoring 45 points. West Fork, Green Forest, and Haas Hall Academy rounded out the top 5.

The Boys 3A Championship was the best tactically run race of the week. Owen Shafer won his first state championship in the final race of the 2023 Arkansas State Cross Country Championships.

Shafer, in his senior season at Bald Knob, sat five seconds behind the lead pack all race, allowing the lead pack of three to duel against one another before making his move in the final mile in the race. Shafer raced to a 16:55.77, putting an exclamation mark on a terrific season. 

Rocky Stone, Kaleb Eskew, and G'mar Britton all took turns leading today and finished second, third, and fourth respectively.

West Fork won the 2A Boys Team Championship, scoring 73 points and averaging 18:40. Maumelle Charter was not far behind in second, scoring 86 points and averaging 18:42. Jessieville, Green Forest, and Dover rounded out the top 5.